Obervations

Hello. Technically, practically, conscientiously, I am supposed to be working on my contracts final draft now which is in the stage of creation but I can’t resist typing this out.

1. I have found why people (Me included) want to moot. The thrill of the spotlight for that 5-10 minutes gives one such a high that is irreplacable and unbeatable as I found during my Criminal Law presentation. (Thank you Ma’am for making me realise this.) The statment made by one senior is very pertinent here. It was something like, “Give me 5 minutes of the spot-light and I will dance.” Very true. The context here is mooting but the same applies to dancing as well. No wonder I adore (Funny usage of the term here but couldn’t find a better replacement.) mooting though it involves maximum stress, tension and is a royal pain but then again, some of us learn it the hard way and it is not that tough really. You work for around a span of two months on let’s say a 2 page (In my case 655? I have actually forgottten the exact figure and that is sad because I kept ranting on about it) moot problem to get jacked for 5-15 minutes by some random legal guru who I bet hasn’t reasearched as much as you and might just be having a bad day or would dislike your confidence or submissivness. Just how arbitrary can things get. Point being, I think it’s fun and miss the challenge of mooting.

2. We are not going to do a substantial chunk in our contracts portion which is by far the most interesting and useful in contracts. Don’t ask me why but hell, you can’t learn everything, right? Though:

a) Batches before you have done it. (God they must be great.)

b) There are experts in contracts in college.

c) You DO NOT I repeat do not have to learn the Law as long as you know (read mug/by heart) the sections by heart and the cases. (Agan the whole learning v. mugging debate. Refer my previous posts if you’re interested).

d) This is Law school. Welcome to reality.

3. The campus looks increasingly beautiful but do I have the time to sit around gaping in awe and wonder at the skies or even finish my novel? Nah, I don’t. Monotony, projects, end-semesters beckon and so does home. That is atleast a consolation besides the invitation for my cousin’s (I think he is. I am bad at determining relationships.) wedding, an event I am least interested in. Really. Weddings, Indian dresses, looking jazzy or glossy, mixing with relations I don’t even know exist or the ones I do who are too old and me do not mix.

Reminds me of the poem, “We have no time to stand or stare…”. When was the last time I read poetry or sang tunelessly? I have no clue but it wasn’t any time soon and it will not but like my Mom says everybody is undergoing the same so I can’t complain but is that any justification if you want your life to be a trifle different? I am pasting the words of the poem titled ‘Leisure’ here (I had forgotten it was called that because I had come across it in the Wren and Martin. That I think is one hell of a book to read for lesisure or academic purposes.)

Leisure
 
 
  What is this life if, full of care,
We have no time to stand and stare.No time to stand beneath the boughs
And stare as long as sheep or cows.

No time to see, when woods we pass,
Where squirrels hide their nuts in grass.

No time to see, in broad daylight,
Streams full of stars, like skies at night.

No time to turn at Beauty’s glance,
And watch her feet, how they can dance.

No time to wait till her mouth can
Enrich that smile her eyes began.

A poor life this is if, full of care,
We have no time to stand and stare.

William Henry Davies

 Perfectly suits the atmosphere here and I had to interpret the lines of this poem once upon a time. Those were the days.

 One sure needs to learn the art of dancing slow.

Leave a Reply

