‘Midsummer’

Today is the day of the Summer Solstice. I have never paid much attention to this day except for that time in 6th or 7th or 8th grade even when we had to draw that oval shaped diagram with the position of the earth in 4 different ways and had to mark the solstices. I hated that diagram! And then to write explanations around it to explain it was worse because my writing in capitals / block letters had always been pathetic. Seriously it is one thing to draw and then another to mark the parts! Argh. How I hated drawing diagrams hence avoided answers that had them. They made us draw maps also  for every country / continent / island / tiny city one described! Why-oh-why can’t you (The Examiner) pick up the atlas and look it up as we are in any case describing how it is, whether it is a fjord or an archipelago or a vast stretch of land whether it is Prairie land or the Savannah, whether the trees there shed leaves, whether the people there are called anything like Eskimos, what do they eat, do they like fish?, whether they have steady rainfall, whether they are a self-sufficient economy… What more can you want to know anyway? And who’s to say I don’t miss Geography! I miss the words for sure, so… pleasant and nice-sounding like archi-pe-lago, Prai-rie with its infamous dogs, Sa-van-nah, Tro-pi-cal! I used to love the first Geography lesson on rocks, igneous, sedimentary and metamorphic, quite fascinating. Then there was the small bit on stalactite and stalagmite. Did I get the spellings right?! That was a fascinating course if only one had gotten the chance to thoroughly enjoy it and just study it for what it was than an exercise in mugging / cramming the whole damn text-book.

Getting back to my original point of discussion, it is the solstice. And I am burnt by the sun already when I had gone traipsing around the city for no reason but to shop. B-u-r-n-t. For more details on the solstice, please refer to: http://www.hindu.com/yw/2011/06/21/stories/2011062150150200.htm .

Summers also remind you of this song,

Summer lovin’ had me a blast 
Summer lovin’, happened so fast 
I met a girl crazy for me
I met a boy, cute as can be 

Summer days driftin’ away,
To uh-oh those summer nights 
Tell me more, tell me more, 
Did you get very far? 
Tell me more, tell me more, 
Like, does he have a car?

She swam by me, she got a cramp 
He went by me, got my suit damp 
I saved her life, she nearly drowned 
He showed off, splashing around 
Summer sun, something’s begun, 
But uh-oh those summer nights 

Tell me more, tell me more,
Was it love at first sight? 
Tell me more, tell me more, 
Did she put up a fight? 
Took her bowlin’ in the Arcade 
We went strollin’, drank lemonade 
We made out under the dock 
we stayed up until ten o’clock 

Summer fling don’t mean a thing, 
But uh-oh those summer nights 
Tell me more, tell me more, 
But you don’t gotta brag
Tell me more, tell me more, 
Cause he sounds like a drag 

He got friendly, holdin’ my hand 
Well she got friendly, down in the sand 
He was sweet, just turned eighteen 
Well she was good, you know what I mean 

Summer heat, boy and girl meet, 
But uh-oh those summer nights 
Tell me more, tell me more, 
How much dough did he spend? 
Tell me more, tell me more, 
Could she get me a friend?

It turned colder, that’s where it ends 
So I told her we’d still be friends 
Then we made our true love vow 
Wonder what she’s doin’ now 

Summer dreams ripped at the seams, 
But oh, those summer nights

2 thoughts on “‘Midsummer’

Leave a Reply

