Thought Catalog

Growing up, I thought I had a pretty good idea what being a woman meant. All the women around me or at least the women I looked up to had a lot in common – they had successful careers, they were married, they were mothers, and they were involved in their communities. Looking back, I don’t know how the hell they did it – some days I come home and honestly am grateful that the only person I really have to cater to is myself. It sounds selfish but it’s true. Yesterday, I started my day at 5:30 AM, after 3.5 hours of sleep, and after just managing to get in a workout at 9:30 PM, I didn’t get home till 11 PM. Most days aren’t like this but then I think of my mother who while married and working, obtained all her education to the PhD level, and raised…

View original post 722 more words

Leave a Reply

