We have to keep reinventing ourselves almost every minute because the world can change in an instant and there’s no time for looking back. Sometimes the changes are forced on us, sometimes they happen by accident, and we make the most of them. We have to constantly come up with new ways to fix ourselves. So we change, we adapt, we create new versions of ourselves. We just need to be sure that this one is an improvement over the last. – Grey’s Anatomy

This weekend I will be going back (if only for a while) to a city which I realise now I had grown to love even with all its flaws. I realise with glaring clarity that yes, I didn’t have a life there, I was unhappy, I was cold, I was sad and at the end of my time there had fallen gravely ill but somewhere I had grown to love the city, my independence, my gutsines in dealing with its many issues, that surge of happiness I felt every time I rode on the Metro, its shopping, its food and yes, I had become a fan of the cold even (not the extreme cold). Something about that city was me, was home and I cannot be thankful for my experience (albeit brief) in the city. It shall always have a huge part of me and going back is going to be weird and awkward like meeting a long lost not-in-touch friend but I want to see it properly. I am there for a super short while and there is so much to cover like seeing my 1st independently rented home (which must now surely be occupied) and I know I can’t cover it all but I didn’t realise how badly my urge was to see “my city” again. I wish I had more time and I wish I wasn’t quite the escapist to even shy from meeting “my city” but I am going to make do with the time I have.

Here’s to “my city”. I haven’t done justice to you by writing a proper post on you to let people know that you aren’t half as bad as they make you sound, in fact, you’re the best.

See you soon.

Leave a Reply

