Anxiety: The New Normal Of 20-Something Life

Thought Catalog

Flickr / Isaí MorenoFlickr / Isaí Moreno

After a week of waking up with sensations of anxiety, things reached their bleakest point last Friday when I had to take a mental health day off. I cancelled almost every commitment, meeting, project, class assignment, teaching task, grading, writing piece, etc. I had planned to do, and spent the whole day in bed. Sooner or later I did start writing something that only had the effect of opening up old wounds or maybe finally dealing with them. And that was the straw that broke the camel’s back.

Or maybe it wasn’t so much a straw that broke the camel’s back as it was the trigger of strong feelings of helplessness and hopelessness. Then came the feelings of emotional and physical paralysis. I couldn’t do anything; I felt like I just couldn’t do anything. So I cried. No, it wasn’t just one glistening tear or a…

View original post 721 more words

Leave a Reply

